Silver Beaver

The Silver Beaver award is the highest national award presented by a local council to individuals for noteworthy service of exceptional character to youth through service given to the council. Each local council may present only a limited number of Silver Beaver awards each year, which makes this a very prestigious award for those whose record of service to youth is most outstanding!

The Cradle of Liberty Council is currently accepting nominations for volunteers who have made an impact on the lives of youth through service given to the council.

Remember this is for service given at the Council level.

We are seeking nominations for the Silver Beaver Award

Nominations are due by February 16th, 2024

Award recipients will be recognized at the Annual Council Recognition Dinner on April 15, 2024.

District Award of Merit

The District Award of Merit is the highest award that is given to a Scouter at the district level and recognizes adults for service to youth in the District. Interestingly enough, the District Award of Merit is the only “non-square knot” in the knot award group.

Nominations should be submitted through your district committee.

Distinguished Unit Leader Award

The Distinguished Unit Leader Award is an award established by the Cradle of Liberty Council to recognize a unit leader who not only performs his/her duties within their unit, but frequently goes above and beyond those duties for the benefit of the youth in their unit.

We are seeking nominations for the Distinguished Unit Leader Awards (DULA)

Nominations are due by February 16th, 2024

Completed nomination forms should be submitted directly to your district committee.


Lifesaving and Meritorious Action Awards

National awards for lifesaving and meritorious action are made only for outstanding and unusual acts that demonstrate unusual heroism, skill, or bravery and reflect Scouting ideals. Recognition may be given to any member of the Boy Scouts of America, Cub Scout, Boy Scout, Varsity Scout, Venturer, or adult leader. There are two levels of awards – Lifesaving Awards and Meritorious Action Awards.

Union League Good Citizenship Award

Help Cradle of Liberty Council nominate a Scout for the Union League of Philadelphia’s 2023 Good Citizenship Award.

Candidates must:

  • Be a junior in high school 
  • Be a citizen of the United States 
  • Be a member of the nominating organization in good standing
  • Demonstrate hard work and fair play
  • Have personal attributes of honesty, courage, tolerance, curiosity and loyalty
  • Endeavor to follow and uphold the principles of American patriotism

Please submit a Nominator Form (to be filled out by you) and the Student Information Sheet (2 pages to be completed by the student) for each nominated student

Please do not send any nominations directly to the Union League.

Nominations are Open for the 2023 Union League Good Citizenship Award

Nominations are Due on Friday, January 12, 2024

Religious Emblems Programs

A Scout is reverent. He is reverent toward God. He is faithful in his religious duties and respects the convictions of others in matters of custom and religion.

National Awards and Resources

The Boy Scouts of America’s repository for information about official awards and recognition’s. This is where the most up-to-date information about BSA-related awards may be found, including award applications and nomination forms.

Comments, Questions, or Concerns.


The council staff will be working remotely and, as always, you can reach out the to

Please stay safe!

Due to inclement weather, the Firestone Scouting Resource Center and Valley Forge Scout Shop will be closed on Tuesday, February 13, 2024.