Merit Badge Counselors

Merit Badge Counselor List

Merit Badge Counselor List (Requires a username and password, which can be found from your scoutmaster , district or council advancement committee)

Become a Merit Badge Counselor

The qualifications of a merit badge counselor are:


  • Be 18 years or older
  • Have knowledge and proficiency in the subject through vocation, hobby, or special training
  • Have knowledge of BSA Guidelines
  • Have an ability to work with Scouts
  • Take youth protection training
  • Submitted PA Child Protective Services Clearances, click here for more information
  • Complete Merit Badge Counselor Orientation, click here for more information.  (Required starting Jan 1, 2019)
  • Be approved by the district advancement committee

To become a Merit Badge Counselor in the Cradle of Liberty Council, complete a BSA Adult Application and the Merit Badge Counselor Information Form. The MBC Information form can be downloaded, completed on the computer, saved, and then printed for submission. Hard copies of these forms are also available from your district advancement committee chair and the district executive, as well as both Council service centers.


Submit the BSA Adult Application and the MBC Information Form to your district merit badge counselor dean or to either Council service center.


THE BSA ADULT APPLICATION IS REQUIRED, EVEN IF YOU ARE CURRENTLY REGISTERED IN ANOTHER POSITION. Merit badge counselor is a district-level position and therefore requires a new registration. It is similar to being registered as a Webelos Den Leader and also an Assistant Scoutmaster – separate applications are required for both positions.


Some of the merit badges have specific certifications or other qualifications required to be a counselor; these are Canoeing, Climbing, Lifesaving, Rifle Shooting, Rowing, Scuba Diving, Shotgun Shooting, Snow Sports, Swimming, Whitewater. There are other special requirements for swimming, watercraft activities, and CPR instruction.  See Section of the Guide to Advancement.


Earning merit badges gives a Scout the self-confidence that comes from overcoming obstacles to achieve a goal. The steps to follow in the merit badge program are:

  1. A Scout expresses an interest in a merit badge
  2. The Scoutmaster (or designee) provides the name of a counselor from the approved merit badge counselor list and signs the Merit Badge Application (aka blue card) indicating the Scout has approval to work on the merit badge.
  3. The Scout contacts the counselor
  4. The Scout works with the counselor on completing the requirements
  5. The counselor signs the application in the appropriate locations and retains his/her portion of the card.
  6. The Scout turns in the complete application and the Scoutmaster (or designee) signs in the appropriate location acknowledging the merit badge has been earned and returns the Scout’s portion of the card to the Scout.
  7. The unit turns in the completed Unit Advancement Report and obtains the merit badge
  8. The Scout receives the merit badge.


Each district, working with the Council Registrar, maintains a list of merit badge counselors.  Only those on the official list are allowed to sign off that a Scout has completed the merit badge.  Each district has a merit badge counselor coordinator (aka Dean).  For find for districts dean please contact your District Executive.